Daily Iowegian Sports

Reds fall to Ft. Madison, Kirksville

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. — The Centerville Big Reds came away with some individual wins, but with only six wrestlers making the trip to dual meets south of the state line they were unable to come away with any dual wins.

In contested matches against Kirksville, Centerville won two of six matches. Against Fort Madison, Centerville had just one win.
Brad Irwin won both of his matches. He beat Branden Beeler, of Kirksville, by pin. Irwin would win by a 2-1 decision over Ft. Madison’s Matthew Derr.

The other Centerville win on the night came from Treye Rinehart at 138 pounds against Kirksville. Rinehart won by 15-0 technical fall over Mason Roberston.

Ft. Madison beat Centerville 60-9 while Kirksville won 63-11.

Centerville competed in Clarke on Thursday. They will travel to Fairfield for the Southern Iowa Classic, which also doubles as the South Central Conference wrestling meet.

They’ll begin the post-season on Feb. 8 with sectionals at Albia. Wrestlers placing in the top-two individually will move on to districts which will be in Fairfield on Feb. 15. The top-two individual wrestlers in each weight class from the district meet advance to the state wrestling tournament, held at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines Feb. 20-22.

Ft. Madison 60, Centerville 9
145 — Brad Irwin (CV) def. Matthew Derr (FTM), 2-1 dec. 152 — Nicholas Otte (FTM) def. Kade Warren (CV), 0:26 pin. 160 — Lane Gray (FTM) def. Grant Walker (CV), 2:04 pin. 170 — Jacob Hargrave (CV) won by forfeit. 182 — Double forfeit. 195 — Double forfeit. 220 — Cody Charbonneau (FTM) won by forfeit. 285 — Travis Fincher (FTM) won by forfeit. 106 — Danta Seaney (FTM) won by forfeit. 113 — Adam Darley (FTM) won by forfeit. 120 — Tanner Hocker (FTM) won by forfeit. 126 — Bryce Meyer (FTM) def. Noah Coatney (CV), 1:29 pin. 132 — Justin Menke (FTM) won by forfeit. 138 — Trenton Johnson (FTM) def. Treye Rinehart (CV), 1:08 pin.

Kirksville 63, Centerville 11
160 — Tre Stewart (KV) def. Grant Walker (CV), 2-1 dec. 170 — Matt Kelly (KV) def. Jacob Hargrave (CV), pin. 182 — Double forfeit. 195 — Makenna Cook (KV) won by forfeit. 220 — Kade Proctor (KV) won by forfeit. 285 — Austin Dovin (KV) won by forfeit. 106 — Hayden Hamilton (KV) won by forfeit. 113 — Kaleb Cox (KV) won by forfeit. 120 — Allen George (KV) won by forfeit. 126 — Ethan Rentschler (KV) won by forfeit. 138 — Treye Rinehart (CV) def. Mason Robertson (KV), 15-0 technical fall. 145 — Brad Irwin (CV) def. Branden Beeler (KV), pin. 152 — Ryan Merenda (KV) def. Kade Warren (CV), pin.

%d bloggers like this: