Daily Iowegian Sports

MGC raises $6K for Moravia ag program

Twenty-seven teams (108 golfers), for the second consecutive year, gathered on July 27 for the seventh annual Mohawk Golf Classic. This year proved to be another successful fundraising event for Moravia Schools. Not only did the weather turn out great for a late July weekend, but more $6,000 was raised for the students at Moravia.
Throughout the day, golfers bid on 10 different items donated by businesses in Iowa. The silent auction brought in $1,050.
Team Elliott wins Mohawk Golf Classic
The Elliott’s General Store team (Dave Elliott, Peggy Elliott, John Lageman and Sean Woodward) walked away with the tournament championship with a score 59 (14-under par), one shot over their 2012 win of 58. Second place in the championship flight went to team Rose (Todd Rose, Gary Yoder, Scott Cavitt and Bob Carter) finishing second following a scorecard playoff with a score of 60 and third place honors went to team Iowa Trust and Savings Bank (Jon Van Zante, Tony Deininger, Bob Maddaleno and Keith Sales) with 60.
Team Fadiga Trucking (Jeff Fadiga, Norm Houser, Mike Cooper and Pat Kelly) finished in first place (second consecutive year) in the ‘A’ flight after a scorecard playoff with 65. Team Young Bucks (Chase Martin, Jody Martin, Zach Harp and Bill Harp) finished in second place scoring 65. Third place in the ‘A’ flight was awarded to Team Lindley (Wayne Lindley, Marvin Lindley, Nancy Stokwisz and Terry Tuttle) scoring 67.
The winner of the ‘B’ flight was determined after a scorecard playoff between three teams. Team Official Pest Control (Jerry Robison, Denny Whitlow, Kevin Drummond and Todd Defoe) finished in first place. Second place honors went to team Colwell (Ron Colwell, Galen, Jason and Josie Modlin) with a score of 70. And the third place team in the ‘B’ flight was awarded to team Kirby (David Kirby, Josh Humphreys, Larry Wheeler and Dereck McGlumphy) scoring 70 as well. Winners in each flight were awarded gift certificates and prizes donated from local businesses.
A record-tying 27 teams participated in the tournament including Country Clipper Mowers, Fadiga Trucking, Cochenburg, Elliott’s General Store, Honey Creek Resort, Hanson, Barker Specialty Products, Hoffman Automotive, The Hair Barn, Ewing Family, LG Seeds, Lone Wolf Financial, Iowa Trust and Savings Bank, Booners, Baty Electric, Vestal, Dude Where’s My Par (Ogier/Rowley), Team Colwell, Kirby, Rose, Ball Busters, Young Bucks, TBC Insurance, Long Repair, Louie McNutts, Official Pest Control and team Lindley.
$5,000 50 foot putt and Accuracy Contest Winners
Todd DeFoe, of team Official Pest Control, won the qualifying round of the $5,000 putting contest sponsored by Lockridge Inc. The 50 foot downhill money putt unfortunately ended up avoiding the hole this year.
Additional accuracy contests were held on 11 different holes. Results: No. 1 M longest drive – Norm Houser, No. 3 W longest putt – Heather Moeller, No. 4 W longest drive – Casey Kool, No. 5 M longest drive – Mike Cooper, No. 7 Closest to the Pin — Rollo Fisher, No. 9 M longest putt — Bob Maddaleno, No. 11 W longest putt – Jessi Fetters, No. 13 Closest to the Pin – Jon Van Zante, No. 15 W longest drive – Josey Modlin, No. 17 Closest to the Pin – Jackie Dargin and No. 18 M longest putt – Jared “The Man” Power.
$500 Gas and Groceries raffle
During the Mohawk Golf Classic, raffle tickets were sold for a $250 Hy-Vee gift card and a $250 Elliott’s General Store/BP gift card. The winner of the $250Hy-Vee gift card was Tony Natale.
The winner of the $250 BP gift card went to Jessi Fetters.

%d bloggers like this: